Sinema, McSally become Arizona’s first female Senators

Sinema, McSally become Arizona’s first female Senators
Either Martha McSally (R) or Krysten Sinema (D) will make history as Arizona's first member of the U.S. Senate. (Source: KOLD News 13)

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) - 29 new and re-elected Senators were sworn in on Thursday, Jan. 3rd, including Martha McSally (R) and Kyrsten Sinema (D) from Arizona.

The two women became Arizona’s first female Senators, with Sinema being senior to McSally. Senator elect Kyrsten Sinema is not only the first female Senator from Arizona, but she is the first openly bisexual member of the Senate.

Sinema and McSally ran for office against each other in November. The race went into a recount of ballots and a winner wasn’t determined until 6 days after the election.

McSally ultimately lost to Sinema, but was appointed to replace the late Senator John McCain.

Copyright 2019 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.