Arizona Track set to host Pac-12 Championships

Five Wildcat men take Pac-12 leading marks into this weekend’s event

Jumping on the wings of an angel

TUCSON, AZ - Arizona Track is set to host the Pac-12 Championships at Roy P. Drachman Stadium this weekend.

Saturday marks the first time the Cats have hosted the Pac-12 title meet since 2011, and is the Championships’ fifth all-time appearance in Tucson (1985, 1995, 2004, 2011, 2019).

The Wildcats finished second on both the men’s and women’s sides back in 2011.

Margaret Callahan (Steeplechase), Julie Labonte (Shot Put) and Brigetta Barrett (High Jump) won Pac-12 titles for the women while Lawi Lalang (5,000), Stephen Sambu (10,000), Nick Ross (High Jump) won championships for the men.

This year’s men’s team holds five Pac-12 Conference-leading marks going into the weekend.

Redshirt Junior Carlos Villarreal posted the best 1500-meter run time in the conference in 3:37.22. Senior Bailey Roth holds the top mark in the 3K steeplechase in 8:38.68. Junior Justice Summerset owns the high jump lead with a clearance of 2.25m (7-4.5). Freshman PJ Austin has the lead in the long jump with a mark of 7.74m (25-4.75). Sophomore Jordan Geist leads in the shot put with a toss of 21.59m (70-10).

Senior Tatum Waggoner will compete in her final meet at Roy P. Drachman Stadium. Her mark of 51.89 in the 400-meter dash ranks second all-time for Arizona. She is slated to compete in the 400-meter dash and both relays.

The event kicks off with the hammer throw at 11 a.m. MST on both Saturday and Sunday.

You can read more about this weekend’s championship at

Copyright 2019 Arizona Athletics. All rights reserved.