Engines roar in Tucson this weekend

The K&N Pro Series West race at Tucson Speedway will feature Twin-100s for a 2nd year in a row

Engines roar in Tucson this weekend
Kody Vanderwal won both of the Twin-100s here in Tucson last season. (Source: Photo courtesy: Kody Vanderwal)

TUCSON, AZ - The K&N Pro Series West returns to Tucson Speedway this weekend for a pair of Twin 100-lap races that will feature twenty K&N racecars on the track for the first of what will be two race in Arizona this season.

The K&N Pro Series is NASCAR’s premiere developmental league that hosts “tomorrow’s stars, today.” The series holds separate championships in the East and West.

Future stars of NASCAR Hailie Deegan, Derek Kraus, Jagger Jones, Tanner Gray, Kody Vanderwal, and Britney Zamora will be battling veterans Dustin Ash, Tucson’s Matt Levin, and many more for the win.

Deegan (Las Vegas) and Trevor Huddleston (Irwindale) won the first two races of the season.

This is the second-year in a row the Series has run Twin-100s in Tucson. Vanderwal won both races last year.

The 18-year old driver has partnered this season with the Tucson-based Levin Racing, fronted by driver Matt Levin and driver-turned-crew chief Ron Norman. Levin is currently 6th in the points standings with 10th and 7th place finishes in the season’s first two races.

The Series returned to Tucson in 2015 after a 14-year absence. The first three years featured 150-lap races won by Noah Gragson (2015), Ryan Partridge (2016) and Chris Eggleston (2017).

Alumni of the circuit include Daytona 500 champion Joey Logano (2007 NASCAR K&N Pro West race winner at Phoenix International Raceway and 2007 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East champion), 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Kevin Harvick (1998 NASCAR K&N Pro West champion), as well as drivers Kyle Larson, Austin Dillon and Chase Elliott.

The circuit will hit ISM Raceway in Phoenix for the last of Series’ 14 races on November 9.

Copyright 2019 Dark Horse Media. All rights reserved.

David Kelly contributed to this story.