Arizona commit Kobi Simmons is a McDonald's All-American

Published: Jan. 18, 2016 at 2:23 AM MST|Updated: Mar. 2, 2018 at 4:24 PM MST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
Kobi Simmons with Book Richardson and Sean Miller (Photo via @JordanKobi)
Kobi Simmons with Book Richardson and Sean Miller (Photo via @JordanKobi)

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) - Kobi Simmons, a combo guard from Alpharetta, Ga., committed to Arizona on Saturday and got good news on Sunday.

Simmons was selected as a McDonald's All-American, putting him in line to be the 22nd such honoree to play for the Wildcats.

Simmons will become the seventh McDonald's All-American to sign with Arizona in the past five years after the school went through a five-year drought without any at all.

Arizona head coach Sean Miller and assistant coach Book Richardson, fresh off Saturday night's home win over Washington State, flew east to visit Sunday with Simmons, who tweeted a picture with his arms around both coaches.

"My relationship with Coach Miller is very strong, and he is going to put the ball in my hands and allow me to make plays on and off the ball," Simmons told ESPN. "Also I think the Arizona style of play and the Pac-12 Conference's style of play best fits my game."

This year's McDonald's All-American Game will be played March 30 in Chicago.

Arizona could add to its McDonald's stock as the Cats are still pursuing wing Josh Jackson, the nation's No. 1 recruit. Jackson is expected to decide between Arizona and Michigan State.

Here is a list of all the McDonald's All-Americans to play for Arizona, and note that two other such players signed with the Wildcats but went directly into the pro ranks -- Ndudi Ebi (2002) and Brandon Jennings (2008):

Year -- Player

1984 -- Craig McMillan

1985 -- Sean Elliott

1987 -- Brian Williams

1988 -- Chris Mills

1990 -- Khalid Reeves

1991 -- Ben Davis

1996 -- Mike Bibby

1996 -- Loren Woods

1998 -- Richard Jefferson

1999 -- Jason Gardner

2002 -- Hassan Adams

2003 -- Mustafa Shakur

2004 -- Jawann McClellan

2006 -- Chase Budinger

2007 -- Jerryd Bayless

2012 -- Grant Jerrett

2012 -- Brandon Ashley

2013 -- Aaron Gordon

2013 -- Rondae Hollis-Jefferson

2014 -- Stanley Johnson

2015 -- Allonzo Trier

2016 -- Kobi Simmons