Today (June 1) is the start of “meteorological summer”.  Meteorologists measure the summer season from June 1 until August 31.

Why do we do this?

The Earth's orbit and equinoxes vary slightly each year, which is why the seasons don't always begin on the same date. Meteorological seasons make it easier to accurately collect climate data based on our temperature cycle and calendar.

Here's the breakdown of our meteorological seasons:

  • style="line-height:normal;">Spring: March 1 - May 31
  • style="line-height:normal;">Summer: June 1 - August 31
  • style="line-height:normal;">Fall: September 1 - November 30
  • style="line-height:normal;">Winter: December 1 - February 28

Astronomical summer, or summer solstice, will officially begin Monday, June 20 at 3:34 p.m. MST.  We will experience the longest period of daylight out of the year that day.

Copyright 2016 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.