Saguaros roll to 12th straight win

Published: Jul. 22, 2016 at 4:41 AM MST|Updated: Jul. 22, 2016 at 4:57 AM MST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) - The Tucson Saguaros inched closer to a division title Thursday night in just their first season in the Pecos League.

The Saguaros beat visiting Salina 8-3 in the opener of a four-game series at Kino Memorial Stadium. It marked the second time this season the club has won 12 straight games.

The win coupled with an 11-10 loss by second place Roswell gave the Saguaros a four-and-half game lead in the South Division with just seven games remaining.

Tucson's magic number is now three.

If the Saguaros can win their division they will get a first round bye in the Pecos League playoffs with the best-of-three second round scheduled to start at Kino Stadium on August 4.

Six of the league's ten teams will qualify for the post-season.

Randy Keen (6-0) pitched six innings to remain undefeated, giving up two runs on five hits.

Tucson's offensive smacked out 15 hits of their own including an inside-the-park home run by Burnell Dailey.

The Pecos League also announced on Thursday night that the Saguaros will be back for a second season at Kino Memorial Stadium in 2017 and that the former Major League spring training venue will be the site for the independent league's All-Star game.

The same two teams will meet at Kino Stadium on Friday and Saturday nights at 7 p.m. before heading to Bisbee for a Sunday afternoon affair.

Copyright 2016 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.