Tucson Saguaros win Pecos League title

Published: Aug. 12, 2016 at 3:53 PM MST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

TUCSON, AZ (Tucson News Now) - The Tucson Saguaros woke up this morning with a new title -- champions.

The Saguaros, in their first season, won the Pecos League Championship with a thrilling, come-from-behind win over the Trinidad Triggers Thursday night.

Tucson (51-14) was down 4-1 in the bottom of the ninth inning.

Michael Rampone lead off with single and Ryan Retz took first when he was hit by a pitch.

An error by the Trinidad leftfielder helped Jimmy Heck load the bases for Tucson.

Still with no outs, Rampone scored on Jesse Baker's single to make it 4-2.

Adam Urbania walked with the bases loaded to plate Retz and cut the deficit to one run.

Tanner Giesel tied it up with a sacrifice fly to center fielder.

Triggers pitcher Christian Schneider then walked Thomas McKenna but the catcher missed the ball and Baker scored in the winning run on the wild pitch.

Copyright 2016 Tucson News Now. All rights reserved.